Afraid to Love


I loved reading this book, almost too much. Just a couple of chapters in, I couldn’t put the book down. I finished reading it around 3:30 in the morning. Surrender Bay, by Denise Hunter, is a Nantucket love story. Having been to Nantucket a couple of times on family vacations, the location will always have a special place in my heart. I have also read Denise Hunter’s Driftwood Lane, The Convenient Groom, and A Cowboy’s Touch, the first two also being Nantucket love stories. I love them all!

Surrender Bay is a book that really pulls at my heart. I’m glad that everyone in my house was asleep as I read it so they couldn’t hear my laughter and tears of joy and sorrow. From page to page, I couldn’t stop reading. I couldn’t WAIT to read what would happen next and if the main character would just give in already!

Samantha Owens has lost everything. Her father died when she was young, her mother left her at a young age, and now even her dreadful stepfather has died. From him she inherits a cottage on the island of Nantucket in Massachusetts. It is a place that she escaped from eleven years ago, and she doesn’t want to go back. But ocean front property on Nantucket? It’s an offer that Sam could never pass up. She plans to repair the place herself, and then sell it for quite a large profit. Sam’s daughter’s future will be set with the money. Caden is all that she has left. Facing her fears of going back, Sam and Caden leave Boston for a month, just enough time to fix up the cottage in Nantucket.

Going back, Sam didn’t realize that she would have to face Landon Reed, the man she’s loved since forever. Having been best friends since childhood, Landon has always been in love with Sam. Having lost everyone that she had ever loved, Sam won’t let herself love Landon. Sam is afraid to accept his love, scared that Landon would leave her too.

Landon won’t give up. Without any contact in eleven long years, Landon loves Sam more than ever. He remains persistent, even helping Sam with renovations. This shortens her time on Nantucket and her time with him, but he wants to earn her trust.

Sam believes that Landon deserves someone better than her. A dark secret looms in her mind, a secret that has been haunting her for eleven years. Will telling Landon be enough to send him away for good?

Landon slowly earns Sam’s trust. He learns that he loves her daughter Caden too. Sam takes notice of how attached Caden becomes to Landon. Would Caden be better off if she had a father figure in her life?

Her fear of love drives Sam away from Landon again and again. Landon can’t possibly live without Sam. Will she ever surrender?

This book was absolutely amazing! I felt attached to each and every character. I HIGHLY recommend that all females read this book!

-Written By: AidanCale-

-Edited By: EmilyIris-

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Review

Leave a comment