Cattle Rustlin’


I LOVE reading. I especially love reading books that are Christian, fiction, romantic, and historical. The combination of it all together gives me an excitement that even some of the best movies can’t. Recently I’ve been reading quite a lot of books in this particular genre, and most of them have been Western. I guess you could say that I’ve takin’ a likin’ to them “out west” novels. The last book that I read was entitled “A Hopeful Heart” and was written by Kim Vogel Sawyer.

Note: Reading this blog post will not ruin any of the pleasure you will receive from reading this novel. I will expand on more than the back of the book does, but I’m only encouraging you to read it. I would only give too much away if the story wasn’t worth reading. This book, however, was extremely hard to put down, even at three in the morning…

I bought this book on sale while I was in the Florida Keys. I was in a furniture store that had just two shelves of books. The first shelf was full of cook books, while the other held books just waiting for me to purchase. With the books being at such a great price, I bought five that looked good. I had never heard of Kim Vogel Sawyer before, but the description on the back cover of the book caught my attention and sounded interesting.

Tresa Neill has nowhere else to go. Her aunt and uncle can’t, maybe even won’t, provide her with a dowry. In the late 1800’s, this means that it will be very hard for Tressa to get married. Her aunt and uncle show no love to her. Tressa hopes to have a second chance when her aunt and uncle choose to send her to the Wyatt Herdsman School in Barnett, Kansas. There Tressa will learn to be a rancher’s wife, to someday perhaps marry someone in the town.

I have to admit, at first I didn’t like Tressa. She was a very timid girl who didn’t open up to anyone. As I continued to read though, I grew to love her. My first impression of her stumbling off the train in Kansas was that she was weak and little. All throughout the book her strength continues to build as she learns about chores, cooking, cleaning, and so much more.

This book is one of those that you start reading already knowing the basic details of the ending. As you begin the book you already know that somehow the two main characters, Tressa Neill and Abel Samms, will end up falling in love. Yes, it’s one of those books. If Tressa and Abel didn’t end up together, the entire book would be worthless and I wouldn’t be telling you to read it.

Both Tressa and Abel have their hearts turned away from God. Before the book begins, you just KNOW that God will soften their hearts as they fall in love. I LOVE books like this: knowing the big picture as you read all of the details that fall into place like pieces in a puzzle.

Okay, yes, I was able to pick out who the bad guy was, but not at first. Knowing who is good and who is bad just enhances the book. I couldn’t wait to read the next page and find out if the bad guys would be caught!

I loved reading this book. There’s something beautiful about two people turning to God and seeing their hearts join together as they fall in love. With excitement from cover to cover I never knew what was about to happen next. I highly recommend reading this book to any and every female.

-Written by: AidanCale-

-Edited by: EmilyIris-

2 Comments

Filed under Book Review, Random Thoughts

2 responses to “Cattle Rustlin’

  1. Andy Paerce

    Hmm… this kind of book reminds me of what Karen Kingsbury writes about (her passion for couples). Yes I know, me a guy, reading Karen Kingsbury books – weird! I use to read a lot! Three books per week, yup, was a nerd back then. But God has a funny humor and a plan. That is why I tend to be a lot nicer to females because of what I’ve read through these books. A guy can learn how to treat a woman properly if only they would take the time to swallow their pride and read something other than action and/or a sexual oriented books/articles.
    I quite agree with your last statement. It is always refreshing to read something that has a meaning. Books like Eragon is meaningless. I was fixated with the brunt of the story, though. The concept crashed into my brain. Magic spoken with an ancient language that defined the world and everything in the world. This ‘Language’ was the god, the entity that created. Though Paolini (the author) mentioned formed gods, I think he sub-consciencely made ‘it’ (Ancient Language) the god. It created, it gave life, it moves, it spoke, etc. That sounds to me like an entity. Though it was a thing. Something to be used. It’s an interesting book. But meaningless because of the lack there of. No turning to a loving God in this story apparently.

    • I’ve read Karn Kingsbury as well! And I definately read more than three books a week… At the moment I’m kind of addicted. That’s AWESOME that the books taught you something even as a guy! That seriously is a VERY creative way for God to teach someone how to treat a woman! Books like this have shown me how I should LET a guy or future man treat me. They have shown me what I should tolerate and what is simply unacceptable.
      Eragon has always been on my reading list… yet I still have never read them. I do love Harry Potter and quite a lot of other fantasy books. I try to read fantasy in between books that are better. Especially if I’m read something with as much depth as C. S. Lewis.
      I’m still in awe that a guy has read Karen Kingsbury… At least SOMEONE appreciates a good read! I was talking to someone yesterday who said that Christian Romance or Christian fiction for that matter, wasn’t worth anything. I on the other hand, have learned quite a lot – just from reading! Thanks for commenting on my blog! You have sincerely just made my day.

Leave a comment