Worry Less, Let God Take Control


“The God who made the world and everything in it is the Lord of heaven and earth and does not live in temples built by hands. And he is not served by human hands, as if he needed anything, because he himself gives all men life and breath and everything else. From one man he made every nation of men, that they should inhabit the whole earth; and he determined the times set for them and the exact places where they should live. God did this so that men would seek him and perhaps reach out for him and find him, though he is not far from each one of us. ‘For in him we live and move and have our being.’ As some of your own poets have said, ‘We are his offspring.’

 “Therefore since we are God’s offspring, we should not think that the divine being is like gold or silver or stone—an image made by man’s design and skill. In the past God overlooked such ignorance, but now he commands all people everywhere to repent. For he has set a day when he will judge the world with justice by the man he has appointed. He has given proof of this to all men by raising him from the dead.”

 When they heard about the resurrection of the dead, some of them sneered, but others said, “We want to hear you again on this subject.” At that, Paul left the Council. -Acts 17:24-33-

God is in control. I don’t have to worry about anything that I have been writing about in my journal. After memorizing Philippians 4:6-7, how could I have possibly forgotten it?

“Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 4:6-7-

For the past week or so I have been struggling spiritually. I have been worrying so much about everything that it led to me not praying very often and forgetting to read my Bible. For the past couple of days I have been praying for God to show me something, to teach me something and speak to me. I love how God works in mysterious ways. Day after day he continues to amaze me. Today was the first day of a special week at school. It’s a week where we have chapel everyday and class bonding activities. My science teacher decided that because it’s the first day of this week, he would present us with this scripture (Act 17:24-33) and reminded the class that God is in control. He challenged us to remember to let God be in control of your life, and not try to take control. I don’t know if anyone actually listened very much, but I was all ears. Ever since I woke up this morning I have been miserable. I thought it was just from staying up too late for the past few nights, but now I realize that it’s from not letting God control my life. The past few weeks I have been filled with worry. Worrying about what other people think of me, about my last couple of years of highschool, and about anything else that I could worry about.

Thankfully through my science teacher, the Holy Spirit spoke to me. Part of my spiritual struggle is from worrying too much and not letting God take control over my life. There is a lot that God is teaching me right now. My continual prayer is to learn more and more about Christ and how to live for him. I feel so much better now that I am reminded that God is in control. Even as we prayed in Choir after science class I felt the Holy Spirit move through me. I can’t wait to find out what I’m going to learn next!

-Written by: AidanCale-

-Edited by: EmilyIris-

Leave a comment

Filed under My Day, Random Thoughts

Leave a Reply

